Kim? Contemporary Art Centre
Establishing Contemporary Art Collection. Focus: Germany

On 24 August at 19:30 everyone was invited to attend a panel discussion “Establishing Collection of Contemporary Painting, Photography and Sculpture. Focus: Germany” as a part of the thematic block “Collection”.

The discussion was presented by Kim? in collaboration with the curator and art expert Norbert Weber from Germany. Dr. Ulrich Bischoff, the director of Galerie Neue Meister in Dresden and author of many books, as well as Brigitte Gerisch-Hölk, co-founder of Herbert-Gerisch Sculpture Park in Neumünster, and Dr. Perdita von Kraft, the director of Kunstmuseum Dieselkraftwerk Cottbus, were taking part in the panel. The experts were  analyzing the fundamentals of establishing a successful contemporary art collection and were arousing an exchange of ideas on the development of the collection of the nascent Latvian Museum of Contemporary Art.

Galerie Neue Meister is one of the most notable museums of modern art in Germany. There are around 2500 paintings by a number of famous artists from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries in its collection. The greatest attention is drawn by German painters of the Romanticism period Caspar David Friedrich and Gerhard Richter. A notable part of the collection is dedicated to German Impressionism and Expressionism.

Herbert-Gerisch Sculpture Park is managed by The Herbert Gerisch Foundation (established in 2001) and it aims to popularize visual arts as well as to preserve monuments. They are concerned with the questions of interaction of artworks and their environment. The park houses an impressive collection of modern and contemporary art which is supplemented with various exhibitions at Wachholtz Villa.

Kunstmuseum Dieselkraftwerk Cottbus has 16 000 paintings, sculptures, graphic artworks, photographies and posters in its collection. Since 1997 landscapes and themes of nature and environment have been in the centre of the museum’s attention. Kunstmuseum Dieselkraftwerk Cottbus represents such artists as Andreas Gursky, Jan Koster and Edwin Zwakmann.